Real Estate and Personal Property Tax Information
The first installment of Real Estate and Personal Property taxes are due July 1st and payable by August 1st. The second installment is due January 1st and payable by February 1st. All taxes under $100.00 are payable in a single installment and are due July 1st and payable by August 1st. Real Estate bills cover July 1st through June 30th.
If you received a bill for Real Estate you no longer own, please contact us at (860) 644-2511 ext 320. If you received your Real Estate bill and you escrow your taxes, please forward the bill to your lender. If you have paid off your mortgage please contact the office to receive a copy of your bill, we may be reached at 860-644-2511 ext. 320.
Motor Vehicle Tax Information
Motor Vehicle tax is due July 1st and payable by August 1st. Supplemental Motor Vehicle tax is due January 1st and payable by February 1st.
All information concerning motor vehicle taxes is based on where a motor vehicle was registered with the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles on October 1. In order to cancel a registration YOU MUST notify the Department of Motor Vehicles. The Department of Motor Vehicles DOES NOT notify the town when you no longer have a motor vehicle. If you no longer own an automobile the taxpayer is responsible for notifying the Assessor's Office. Any questions concerning motor vehicles that are sold, stolen or destroyed should be directed to the Assessor's office at (860) 644-2511 ext. 312 or email@example.com
If a release is needed to register your vehicle at the DMV, delinquent motor vehicle taxes must be paid in cash, money order, or certified bank funds to the Collector's office. Payments made using a personal check or an online ACH check will not be provided clearance for DMV for ten business days. Payments made online using a Credit/Debit Card may take up to three business days to receive, please contact our office as you must show proof that the payment has cleared your account.
Sewer Billing Information
Residential Sewer Use Bills are due October 1st and payable by November 1st. These bills cover July 1st through June 30th.
Commerical Sewer Use Bills are due April 1st and payable by May 1st. The bill encompasses the prior calendar year of January 1 thru December 31.
Checks returned by the bank are subject to a twenty dollar ($20.00) processing fee.
Taxpayers who have not received a bill should contact the Collector of Revenue's Office for a duplicate. Failure to receive a tax bill does not invalidate the tax or penalties should the account become delinquent.
Unpaid taxes will be considered delinquent after August 1st and February 1st. On that date interest will be charged from the original due date of July 1st and January 1st. Sewer bills will be considered delinquent after November 1st. Interest is calculated at 1.5% per month from the original due date with a minimum charge of $2.00 in accordance with the provisions of C.G.S. Sec. 12-146.
The goal of enforcement procedures is the maximization of revenue to the Town. Penalties, interest charges and legal fees are intended to deter delinquency.
Connecticut General Statutes dictate interest of 1.5% per month retroactive to the due date or 18% per annum charged on all delinquent bills. There is a $2.00 minimum interest charge.
By Statute, failure to receive a tax bill does not invalidate the tax or the interest (S. 12-130).
Real Estate Taxes
Liens are filed annually on all accounts having outstanding taxes. Liens remain in effect until all taxes, interest and fees are paid in full.
Taxpayers should be aware that per CT State statutes 12–144b, tax payments must first be applied to the oldest obligation.
Liens are subject to foreclosure, tax sale and sale/assignment or to a third party for collection.
Motor Vehicle Taxes
Per state statue, delinquent motor vehicle taxes are reported to the DMV, which deny registration renewal and the registration of new vehicles on all vehicles in your name until all taxes, interest and fees are paid in full. For an immediate clearance payment must be in cash, money order, or cashier's check..
Delinquent motor vehicles accounts may be referred to a third party for collection, fees apply and will be paid by the taxpayer.
Sewer Use & Assessment
Demand/Intent to Lien Notices will be mailed by December 1st to all residential accounts with outstanding balances. Sewer Use liens are filed by January 1st. Commercial Accounts with outstanding balances will receive Demand/Intent to Lien notices by June 1st and Liens shall be attached to delinquent accounts by July 1st.
Sewer Assessment Installment liens are filed when an account is set up to pay yearly in installments.
Liens are enforced in the same manner as real estate.
Online Payment Information
The Town of South Windsor, in partnership with Invoice Cloud, is excited to offer residents an easy and secure way to view, print and pay their Real Estate, Personal Property, Motor Vehicle and Sewer bills online. Benefits provided thru Invoice Cloud:
- No signup cost or registration required
- Access, view and pay your tax bills online, at your convenience
- Pay with electronic check, credit & debit cards. The Town receives only the bill payment. You have the option to pay immediately, schedule a payment or sign up for Auto-Pay.
The convenience fee is non-refundable, is automatically calculated and is shown on the payment page before you submit your payment for processing. Convenience fees will appear as a separate charge from your bill amount on your bank or credit card statement. If there is an error in the Credit Card charge, please contact Invoice Cloud at (877) 256-8330, option 3.
Please be very careful when entering your account information. If you make an error in entering your information, you will be notified within days that your payment can't be processed and you will be charged $15 per occurrence.