**Open Space Task Force Minutes** 

September 13,2021

Attendance: Pat Botteron, Sue Larsen, Herb Asplund, Roy Normen, Joe Kennedy, Betty Warren, Bill Flagg, Karen Lydecker-TC, Michelle Lipe-Town Planner

Chair Pat Botteron opened the meeting at 5:38.

The Pledge of Allegiance was said by all.

## **Public Participation**

None.

### Minutes

The minutes were accepted as amended for the name John J. Mitchell Fairground.

## **Correspondence and Reports**

Pat Botteron gave a proclamation to Sue Larsen for her 18 years of service on the Open Space Task Force.

Herb Asplund asked for a moment of silence in memory of Betty Warren's husband, Robert.

Pat Botteron read the thank you card from Betty Warren.

Pat Botteron spoke with the Town Manager. He said the appraisal for 155 Griffin Road has been given to the family.

Roy Normen asked Mayor Paterna to have Open Space Task Force look at the Willow Brook parcel.

### **New Business**

Open Space Task Force was asked to review 161 and 163 Strong Road parcels. It was a landfill in the 90's. There is town owned land on the west side. Pat Botteron said the frontage on 161 was 270.4 ft. and 163 was 67 ft. Michelle Lipe said this was not necessarily an open space parcel but the town would like our assessment of the parcels. Joe Kennedy said the parcels would expand our footprint. The parcels are really on Burgess even though the address is Strong Road. Betty Warren said the parcel should be considered because the town needs protect itself from contamination issues. Also, the expansion of composting would help with the impervious coverage %. Michelle Lipe showed us 30 year old pictures of the parcels. Roy doesn't want Open Space money used to purchase the land.

Joe Kennedy motioned to "Recommend the purchase of 161 and 163 Strong Road with town funds and not Open Space funds". Betty Warren seconded. The vote was unanimous.

#### **BYLAWS**

Betty Warren motioned to "Accept the bylaws as presented". Bill seconded. The vote was unanimous.

#### **ELECTIONS**

Betty Warren nominated Pat Botteron for Chair. Joe seconded the nomination. The vote was unanimous.

Bill Flagg nominated John Caldwell has Vice Chair. Herb Asplund seconded the nomination. The vote was unanimous.

Joe Kennedy nominated Sue Larsen as secretary. Herb Asplund seconded the nomination. The vote was unanimous.

# **Old Business**

None

### **OTHER BUSINESS**

Bill Flagg said he would be leaving OSTF since he willing be leaving P&Z in November. Bill can be considered as a resident. There will be a discussion at a later meeting.

The next meeting will be October 4, 2021.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:07.

Respectfully submitted,

Sue W. Larsen