Storm Water Management Program

This Stormwater Management Plan (SWMP) was developed by the Town of South Windsor for the purpose 
of establishing, implementing and enforcing a stormwater management program to reduce the discharge 
of pollutants from the Town's roadways and facilities to the maximum extent practicable, to protect 
water quality, and to satisfy the appropriate requirements of the Clean Water Act.
The SWMP covers all of the Town's roadways and facilities including public buildings and 
parks/grounds. Individual facilities such as the Public Works Facility (including the salt shed) 
and the Sewage Treatment Plant are covered under the general permit (Phase 1 - Industrial) with the 
Connecticut Department of Energy-& Environmental Protection (DEEP). Information on both the MS4 
(Phase 2) and the Industrial (Phase 1) can be found on the Town website.
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) published the regulation entitled "National 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System -  Regulations  for Revision of the   Water Pollution 
Control Program Addressing Storm Water Discharges", on December 8, 1999 as required by Section 
402(p) of the Clean Water Act (CWA). This is commonly referred to as the National Pollution 
Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Phase II program.
This SWMP also directly addresses the requirements of the NPDES Phase II program as implemented and 
administered by the DEEP as the regulatory authority for the State of Connecticut. The NPDES Phase 
II program is implemented by the DEEP through the use of the General Permit for the Discharge of 
Stormwater from Small Municipal Storm Sewer Systems (MS4), which was originally issued in January 
The Town currently has many practices and programs in place relating to stormwater management and 
pollution prevention. This plan coordinates and incorporates these programs, policies, guidelines 
and practices into the SWMP document by reference.
The plan outlines a program of best management practices (BMP's) and measurable goals for the 
following six minimum control measures:
•     Public Education and Outreach
•    Public Participation/ Involvement
•     Illicit Discharge Detection and  Elimination
•   Construction Site Runoff Control
•     Post Construction Stormwater Management
•     Pollution Prevention / Good Housekeeping
For each minimum control measure, the Town has defined appropriate BMP's, designated  a person(s)  
and job title responsible for each BMP, defined a time frame  for
implementation for each BMP, and defined measurable  goals for each   BMP.
As part of the development of the SWMP, a working committee was established with representatives 
from several Town Departments/Divisions. During the development of the plan, the committee met on a 
regular basis to discuss relevant issues and provide input and guidance in the development of the 
plan. The committee now meets on an annual basis to review the SWMP to discuss measures and 
modifications to the BMP's. A list of the members of the current working committee is provided 
Stormwater Committee
Jeff Doolittle Michele Lipe Jeff Folger Mike Gantick Vincent Stetson Joseph Perna John Caldwell
Dawn Mulholland Bernie Drabek
Engineering Planning
Planning / Inland Wetlands Public Works
Public Works / Street Services Engineering
Parks and Grounds Engineering / GIS