Minutes ENERGY COMMITTEE

Town Hall, Madden Room,

July 11, 2023 4:30 PM

1) Call Meeting to Order

Vice chair person Kozikowski calls the meeting to order at 4:34pm.

2) Roll Call

Members present: Councilor Marek Kozikowski

Hank Cullinane Vijay Srinivasachari Stephen Wagner James MacPherson Jeff Doolittle

- 3) Approval of previous minutes from June 13, 2023

 Hank made a motion to approve the minutes from the June 13th meeting. Stephen Wagner seconded the motion which was approved unanimously. **MOTION CARRIES.**
- 4) Next Meeting /Regular Meeting, Sept 12, 2023 Madden Room, 4.30pm (no August meeting)
- 5) Discussion: EV CHARGING STATION IN TOWN/ Vendors

Jeff Doolittle did some research in regards to placement of the chargers. One of the possible locations is at the library. There are some proposals from some companies. Mr. Doolittle also looked into the different types of charging adaptors.

In terms of how much the town would charge to use the chargers, the committee would make a recommendation to the council. The council would then have to decide how much they would like to charge. The committee decides to start putting together proposals for the next meeting.

A. Project updates

- a. Timothy Edwards solar plus battery (Darrell Crowley)
 - No update
- b. Pleasant Valley solar (Darrell Crowley)
 - No update
- c. Sewer Plant update/battery storage (Steve Wagner)
 - No update, can be removed for future agenda
- d. Sewer Plant EV purchase/update (Jim Macpherson/Steve Wagner)
 - No update
- e. Update on Town Buildings/Energy Use (Steve Wagner)
 - No update
- f. Town Council update: possible incentives for business and commercial development—Letter to Town Council/ (Marek Kozikowski)

Minutes ENERGY COMMITTEE

- The council has received the letter, no other updates at this time.
- g. EV Charging Stations Report/ (Jeff Doolittle, James MacPherson)
 - Proposals to come, discussion at next meeting
- B. Renewable Energy and Battery Storage Sub-Committee (Sherm Tarr and Hank Cullinane)
 - a. Updates/ Economic Development-Local Business
- C. Electric Vehicle Sub-Committee /including EV Charging stations (Jim MacPherson and Jeff Doolittle)

The committee decides to reach out to surrounding communities that have already adapted EV charging stations. The committee is looking into the economic impact the chargers have made within the community.

- D. Outreach Sub-Committee (Marek Kozikowski)
 Councilor Kozikowski expresses his need for help with this sub-committee.
- E. State and National Energy Update (Steve Wagner) Federal money available in new Green Energy Initiatives?

Stephen Wagner shares some updates in regards to zoning regulations and the new building code. Mr. Wagner had a conversation with the Building Chief Official. to legislation. There are no significant changes to the solar zoning regulations.

There were some changes made to the electric vehicle parking space requirements. **Reference attachment A.**

6) Adjournment

Hank made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 5:37pm. Stephen Wagner seconded the motion, which was approved by unanimous voice vote. **MOTION CARRIES.**

Energy Committee Members:

Jeff Doolittle (Town Engineer-Public Works), Darrell Crowley (Director-Facility Operations-SW Schools), Hank Cullinane (Resident), James MacPherson (Resident), Stephen Wagner (Resident), Stephen Lewis (Resident), VJ Srinivasachari (Resident), Jared Lewis (Resident), Marek Kozikowski, Deputy Chairperson (Town Council), Cesar Lopez (Town Council),

1 vacancy