

Michael Maniscalco
Town Manager
1540 Sullivan Avenue
South Windsor, CT 06074

Tuesday, September 19, 2023

## Resolution defining the charge of the Charter Revision Commission and appointment of members to said commission

Dear Mr. Maniscalco:

At its Regular Meeting of September 18, 2023, the South Windsor Town Council approved the following Resolution:

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 7-190(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes, the Town Council of the Town of South Windsor desires to appoint a seven (7) member Charter Revision Commission consisting of seven (7) electors of the Town of South Windsor; and

**WHEREAS**, the names and political affiliations of those members who are to be considered for appointment, and who have agreed to serve on the Charter Revision Commission are:

- 1. Andrew Paterna (D)
- 2. Janice Snyder (U)
- 3. Craig Zimmerman (D)
- 4. <u>Kathleen Daugherty (R)</u>
- 5. Steven Cordeiro (R)
- 6. Denise Ricotta (D)
- 7. Jessica Vogelgesang (U); and

**WHEREAS,** pursuant to Section 7-190(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes not more than one-third of the appointed members, in this case two (2) members, may hold any other public office in the Town of South Windsor; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 7-190(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes not more than a bare majority of the appointed members, in this case four (4) members, may be from the same political party; and

**WHEREAS**, pursuant to Town Charter Section 301 no member of the Town Council may be appointed to serve on the Charter Revision Commission during his or her term of office as Town Council member; and

**WHEREAS**, pursuant to Section 7-190(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, the Town Council desires to make recommendations to the Charter Revision Commission; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 7-190(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, the Town Council must establish when the Charter Revisions Commission shall submit its draft report to the Town Council.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that the following seven (7) electors of the Town of South Windsor shall constitute a Charter Revision Commission:

- 1. Andrew Paterna (D)
- 2. Janice Snyder (U)
- 3. Craig Zimmerman (D)
- 4. Kathleen Daugherty (R)
- 5. Steven Cordeiro (R)
- 6. <u>Denise Ricotta (D)</u>
- 7. <u>Jessica Vogelgesang (U)</u>; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that the Charter Revision Commission shall from their members elect a chairperson and a secretary and shall conduct their actions in accordance with the laws and requirements of Chapter 99 of the Connecticut General Statutes; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that the Charter Revision Commission shall consider and comment in its report on the recommendations of the Town Council listed on **Exhibit A**, attached hereto, provided that the review of the Charter by the Charter Revision Commission is not restricted to the areas identified on **Exhibit A**; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that the Charter Revision Commission shall submit to the Town Clerk its draft report no later than sixteen (16) months from the date of adoption of this resolution.

Respectfully submitted & attested,

\_\_\_\_\_

## Amanda N. Poma

Clerk of the Council

CC: Bonnie Armstrong, Town Clerk
Katherine Senerth, Executive Assistant to the Town Manager
Andrew Paterna, Commissioner
Janice Snyder, Commissioner
Craig Zimmerman, Commissioner
Kathleen Daugherty, Commissioner
Steven Cordeiro, Commissioner
Denise Ricotta, Commissioner
Jessica Vogelgesan, Commissioner